Surrender and Trust

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” – Jer. 29:11

I am turning 28 years old in two weeks!! And as the days pass, no matter how hard I try to control, it just wouldn’t budge. I really just need to ask, “when am I getting married?”, and more importantly, “to whom will I be married?”

Sometimes, it’s flattering that people get surprised upon finding out that I am single and not in a relationship. Modesty aside, I don’t look bad. And besides, I believe God did not create “ugly” things… So, it’s somehow nice that people think that someone might be very much interested to be committed to someone like me.

But then, I am reminded by these people that I have not realized my purpose in this life. That, at 28 years old, I am again faced with the need to discern whether I am bound for marriage or for single blessedness.

Because of this, I find myself asking the Lord over and over. I might not be listening attentively to His voice, but a part of me finds it difficult to believe that He might be asking me to wait and be a bit more patient. I know He has been telling me to let go and let Him take the reins of my life, especially on that aspect: the Lovelife aspect.

It is not always easy to surrender and give it all up to God. Letting go is hard sometimes, and letting God especially so, knowing that freewill is present. I’m not sure if that made any sense, but after all these pondering, there’s just one more important thing that I have to do aside from surrendering, and that is to Trust God.

“Surrendering is not giving up. It is submitting to God’s divine ways for your life, and trusting that He knows what is best.”


About angelbevz

I'm a girl full of contradictions.
This entry was posted in boyfriend, dreams, falling in love, future, happiness, letting go, longing, Love, relationship, romantic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

